• Endowment Fund Banner


Nowhere is one’s loyalty to Harding Academy more clearly demonstrated than through the establishment of an Endowed Fund. By creating an Endowed Fund you have ensured that future generations will continue to share in your commitment to Harding’s educational excellence.
  • The Harding Academy General Endowment Fund

    The Harding Academy General Endowment Fund was established to support the long-term financial stability of the school. A portion of net annual earnings may be used when needed for operations.

  • The Black Family Scholarship Fund

    The Black Family Scholarship Fund was established in 2005. This endowed scholarship is based on financial need.

  • The Ed and Hettie Stuart Endowment

    Recognizing that the strength of any great school lies largely in the members of the faculty and staff, The Ed and Hettie Stuart Endowment was established in December 2007 to endow a fund to recognize any members of the faculty or staff who have gone above and beyond in their service to the school.
  • Harding Academy Hall of Fame Endowment

    Harding Academy established the Harding Academy Hall of Fame Endowment in March 2009 to honor the legacy of outstanding alumni who have made a significant distinction or achievement in their chosen field. Funds generated from this endowment will be used to provide permanent funding and support for the Hall of Fame and their area of recognition.
  • The Andrew Potanin Award

    This award is presented each year at graduation to an eighth grade student who, in the opinion of the Harding faculty, shows potential in creative writing pursuits. The award is not based on academic honor or achievement; rather, it is presented to a student who possesses great interest and promise in his ability to express himself in poetry or short story format. This award was established in memory of Andrew Potanin, Class of 1981. 
  • The Caldwell Scholarship Fund for Minority Students

    This fund was initiated in 1982, by Dr. Thomas B. Caldwell III and his wife Dr. Adeliza Caldwell and named in honor of his father, Mr. Tom Caldwell. This scholarship is awarded to a minority student from an economically disadvantaged family.
  • The Don Schwartz Distinguished Educator Program

    Harding Academy’s tradition of excellence includes leadership by the late Donald S. Schwartz, who served as head of school from 1997-2006. His tremendous contributions to the school included bringing guest educators to campus to inspire our community’s continuous learning about new and effective educational approaches. In his memory this program annually brings a distinguished educator to Harding to speak to the faculty, board, students, and parents.
  • The Dr. Jerry S. Sutton Memorial Scholarship Fund

    This fund was established in 1989 in honor of the late Dr. Jerry S. Sutton by his wife Barbara. Each year it will be awarded to a student that has been determined in need of financial aid.
  • The Geraldine Swystun English Award (former teacher)

    This award is given at graduation to the eighth grade student who has displayed a desire and an exceptional ability to communicate through the spoken and written word. He/she has developed outstanding skills in expository and creative writing.
  • The Margaret Brownlee Scholarship Fund

    The Margaret Brownlee Scholarship Fund was established in 1987 in honor of Miss Margaret Brownlee, a beloved Harding teacher who passed away in 1986. This endowed scholarship fund honors Miss Brownlee and her devotion to her students during her tenure at Harding Academy. The scholarship, based on financial need is directed toward students in the upper elementary grades.
  • The Manning Family Fund
  • The Manning Family Fund was generously established in 2013 by David and Lisa Manning and their daughters, Emily '04 and Meredith '08. The Manning Family Fund for Lower School Educator Professional Advancement was established to support professional development of Harding Lower School educators. The Manning Fund has been given in honor of former Head of School, Ian Craig (2006—2016), for his significant contributions to the Harding community.

  • The Sarah Frances Mudter Fine Arts Endowment

    Established in April 2004 and made possible through a bequest by Sarah Frances Mudter, this endowment provides support for the fine arts.
Inspiring The Mind  •  Nurturing The Spirit